SB 46

86(R) - 2019
Senate State Affairs
House International Relations & Economic Development
Senate State Affairs
House International Relations & Economic Development

Vote Recommendation

  • Neutral
  • Neutral
  • Neutral
  • Neutral
  • Neutral


Judith Zaffirini


Erin Zwiener


Alma A. Allen
Diego Bernal
Cesar Blanco
Rhetta Andrews Bowers
John H Bucy III
Gina Calanni
Terry Canales
Giovanni Capriglione
Nicole Collier
Philip Cortez
John Cyrier
Alex Dominguez
Jessica Farrar
Art Fierro
Barbara Gervin-Hawkins
Jessica Gonzalez
Mary Gonzalez
Vikki Goodwin
Bobby Guerra
Ryan Guillen
Roland Gutierrez
Ana Hernandez
Gina Hinojosa
Donna Howard
Celia Israel
Jarvis Johnson
Ken King
Ray Lopez
J.M. Lozano
Eddie Lucio III
Armando Martinez
Trey Martinez Fischer
Morgan Meyer
Theresa Meza
Ina Minjarez
Joe Moody
Christina Morales
Victoria Neave
Poncho Nevarez
Evelina Ortega
Leo Pacheco
Ana-Maria Ramos
Ron Reynolds
Eddie Rodriguez
Ramon Romero Jr.
Jon E. Rosenthal
Matt Shaheen
J.D. Sheffield
Carl Sherman
James Talarico
Shawn Thierry
Chris Turner
John Turner
Hubert Vo
Terry Wilson
Gene Wu

Bill Caption

Relating to the prohibition against sexual harassment in the workplace.

Fiscal Notes

No significant fiscal implication to the State is anticipated. 

Bill Analysis

SB 46 would establish that an employer, defined as a person who employs one or more employees or acts directly in the interests of an employer in relation to an employee, commits an unlawful employment practice if sexual harassment of an employee occurs and the employer, employer's agents, or supervisors know or should have known that the conduct constituting sexual harassment was occurring and fail to take immediate and appropriate corrective action. This bill would remove the workforce count threshold for purposes of employment discrimination law relating to sexual harassment.

Vote Recommendation Notes

Texas Action remains neutral on SB 46 because it does not affect our liberty principles.