HB 539

86(R) - 2019
House Higher Education
Senate Higher Education
House Higher Education
Senate Higher Education

Vote Recommendation

  • Neutral
  • Neutral
  • Neutral
  • Neutral
  • Neutral


Ben Leman
Trent Ashby
Poncho Nevarez
Drew Springer
Lynn Stucky


Steve Allison
Charles Anderson
Ernest Bailes
Keith Bell
Diego Bernal
Brad Buckley
DeWayne Burns
Angie Chen Button
Briscoe Cain
Travis Clardy
John Cyrier
Harold Dutton Jr.
James Frank
Mary Gonzalez
Sam Harless
Cody Harris
Cole Hefner
Justin Holland
Dan Huberty
Ken King
John Kuempel
Mike Lang
J.M. Lozano
Will Metcalf
Morgan Meyer
Andrew Murr
Jarred Patterson
John Raney
Scott Sanford
J.D. Sheffield
Reggie Smith
James Talarico
Gary VanDeaver
John Wray
Erin Zwiener


Lois Kolkhorst

Bill Caption

Relating to the automatic admission to general academic teaching institutions and eligibility for certain scholarships of a student who is the valedictorian of the student's high school graduating class.

Fiscal Notes

No significant fiscal implication to the State is anticipated.

Bill Analysis

HB 539 would specifically state that a student who graduates as valedictorian in their school is entitled to automatic admission to a public university in Texas. This bill also emphasizes a valedictorian's eligibility for a scholarship. Current law already states that if any student graduates in the top 10 percent of their high school class, they are eligible for automatic admission and scholarship. 

Vote Recommendation Notes

Texas Action remains neutral on HB 539 because it does not apply to any of our principles. This bill, however, does close a loophole in the current law for schools that have graduating classes of less than 10 students. HB 539 is consistent with the spirit of the original intent of the current law.